Researching Creative from a Campaign Perspective Forum
Leaders

Mike Hegener
Mike Hegener
Associate Director, In-Market Consumer Research, General Motors
Bio »

Mark Truss
Mark Truss
Director of Brand Intelligence, JWT
Bio »

Greg Whiteman
Greg Whiteman
Manager, Market Research, United States Post Office
Bio »

Researching Creative from a Campaign Perspective

Upcoming Meetings

Details of the next meeting will be posted shortly. If you have any questions or would like to get involved with this Forum, please contact Zena Pagán at forums@thearf.org.

Previous Meetings

Members: Miss a meeting?
Click here to download past presentations via your My ARF account!

Researching Creative from a Campaign Perspective Forum (Special Forum Webinar)

Thursday, December 01, 2011
2:30PM - 4:30PM EST

If you took an advertisement, and showed the same exact ad to consumers in different media channels, would you expect the consumer response to be similar across channels?

Changes in Static Ad Response by Altering Context
Mark Truss – Director of Brand Intelligence, JWT
If you took an advertisement, and showed the same exact ad to consumers in different media channels, would you expect the consumer response to be similar across channels? Or would you expect to see differences in how consumers responded to the ad? JWT wondered about this, so much so that we conducted a piece of research to find out. The findings may surprise you.

The Effect of Targeting Strategies on Ad Impact and Wearout
Elliot Kulakow - Analytics and Software Development, Moat.com
As online advertising technology matures into the 21st century, it is critical that analytic insights are able to keep pace with the dizzying array of possibilities that advertisers are confronted with as they construct their campaign strategy. By using flash embedded, cursor based estimations of attention to track performance across a major brand campaign targeted to two distinct segments, we have discovered that contextually targeted campaigns and behaviorally targeted campaigns show widely divergent behavior as per-user frequency is increased. As expected from traditional TV advertising, contextually targeted users show decreased attention to the ad at higher frequency. However, behaviorally targeted ads have no such decay - in fact, performance increases slightly as the ad is shown repeatedly. We explore some of possible causes of the effect, and suggest strategies that can leverage this unexpected behavior to increase campaign ROI.

Why are we only Testing TV, When we Want to Test the Campaign?

Thursday, July 14, 2011
12:00PM - 2:30PM EST

Featured Speaker:
New Models of Marketing Effectiveness: From Integration to Orchestration
Kate Cox – MPG London

Advertiser Panel Discussion:
Better Campaign Measurement can’t be as Hard as Roulette
Moderated by Mark Truss – Director of Brand Intelligence, JWT
Mike Hegener – Associate Director, In-Market Consumer Research, General Motors
David Storms – Market Research Director, Johnson & Johnson
Greg Whiteman – Manager, Market Research, United States Post Office

Agenda

12:00–12:30PM EDT (5:00–5:30PM GMT)
Welcome Lunch

12:30–12:50PM EDT (5:30–5:50PM GMT)
ARF Researching Creative from a Campaign Perspective Forum Introduction
William Cook, PhD – EVP, Research and Standards, The ARF
Mike Hegener – Assistant Director, Brand Research, General Motors
Mark Truss – Director of Brand Intelligence, JWT
Greg Whiteman – Manager, Market Research, United States Post Office

12:50–1:20PM EDT (5:50–6:20PM GMT)
New Models of Marketing Effectiveness: From Integration to Orchestration
Kate Cox – Head of Integrations and Orchestration, MPG Media

1:20–1:50PM EDT (6:20–6:50PM GMT)
Advertiser Panel Discussion: Better Campaign Measurement can’t be as Hard as Roulette
Moderated by: Mark Truss – Director of Brand Intelligence, JWT
Mike Hegener – Assistant Director, Brand Research, General Motors
David Storms – Market Research Director, Johnson & Johnson
Greg Whiteman – Manager, Market Research, United States Post Office

1:50–2:15PM EDT (6:50–7:15PM GMT)
Open Discussion and Q&A

2:15–2:30PM EDT (7:15–7:30PM GMT)
Next Steps and Adjournment
William Cook, PhD – EVP, Research and Standards, The ARF

Forum's mission

This Forum will provide a platform for sharing best practices in:
* Applying research to support campaign-level objectives, including measurement objectives
* Measuring campaign effectiveness across media channels and in the context of media placement.

The Forum will translate the learning from those best practices into a framework to guide the integration of pre-testing and in-market tracking findings and promote deeper understanding of the relationship between individual creative elements and the total campaign, including multi-channel campaigns.

ARF Forum sessions are closed, member only sessions and cannot be covered by the press without prior approval from the ARF President and CEO. Learn more about the benefits of ARF membership.

Meetings are listed in Eastern Time and held in our New York City office unless otherwise noted.

The Advertising Research Foundation

432 Park Ave South, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10016

ARF Forums Overview
Download ARF Forums Overview